Audiobooks – Another Way to Live More Sustainably

Okay, you all know how much I’ve griped about my job.  Boring, boring, boring….blah, blah, blah.  I won’t beat that dead horse again.  So, I decided that if I have to be here, I need to find a way to get through the days without harming either myself or anyone else :-).   I’ve never been one to listen to music regularly.  I don’t know.  Maybe its that the radio stations tend to play the same old songs over and over and over and CDs are just too expensive and how many times can you listen to the same one, anyway?   

I am an avid reader.  So I started bringing a book to work thinking I would take short breaks from the computer and read a few paragraphs now and then.  But instead, I find myself cruising the Internet – not exactly in the job description and frowned upon by the powers that be.  Can’t imagine why! 🙂

So, I’ve started listening to audiobooks.  Now, a lot of you will say “well, duh!” to that one, but its something I’ve never done.  I’ve always been a print book reader, even considered a Kindle at one point, but would rather put that $300 towards a new sofa, thank you.   I have spent untold amounts of money on books over the years.  In fact, I recently gleaned those “will-never-read-again” volumes off my bookshelf and donated them to the local library.  You can’t even tell I removed them, there are still so many there. 

And then something else dawned on me.  Paper=trees cut down=tons of fossil fuels used to feed my need to read.  The solution?  Audiobooks!  I’ve made several trips to the library and unfortunately, the selection leaves something to be desired.  But never fear – Audible.com  is here!  I signed up for a 3-month trial and have downloaded a free issue of “Farewell, My Subaru.”  Its great!  I can listen to a book of any genre at work and the time passes much quicker.  I find I am more productive.  I invested $25 in a new set of earbuds and they are worth every penny. 

So not only am I getting through the day in a more agreeable fashion, I am not spending near as much money on books and not feeling guilting about all that paper sitting on my shelf. 

Audiobooks = a more sustainable lifestyle.  I am using my son’s discarded, but still perfectly usable, iPod Nano, so that’s another strike for sustainability.  Reuse, reuse, reuse!   The books on CD I borrow from the library get reused over and over and aren’t cluttering up my shelf space and the downloadable versions are awesome. 

There are lots of ways to live a less cluttered, less environmentally toxic existence.  All the little things really do add up.   Heck, I might even see what it takes to start narrating books myself.    Instead of loaning a book to a friend who may or may not return it, I could give them a digital copy I narrated to my computer.   Sounds like fun! 

Look around.  What can you do to unclutter; what can you repurpose instead of throw away or buy new? 

Keep it simple…….

Leave a Reply

