A New Year’s Challenge!

I know, I know, its not quite Christmas yet, but I’ve been thinking ahead to the new year.  Besides the usual “get back to working out” scenario that goes through my head, I’ve been thinking a lot about how blessed I am.  In fact, America in general is a very prosperous, very blessed nation. 

We’re also a nation at war.  You may not like it and I may not like it.  In fact, I tune it out lots of times on the news because I’m so wrapped in my own life.  But, the fact that it is Christmas and there are so many men and women that are in Iraq and Afghanistan that won’t be home for a long time. 

There are also lots of groups out there of caring men and women that are trying to make the soldiers’ tour of duty more bearable and bring them home safely.  I want to be part of that.  So, the next question is what do I know how to do that can be helpful?  I sew, baby!  I sew like the wind!  I just bought a brand new Pfaff sewing machine and I want to use it to contribute to some soldier’s health and welfare and comfort while he or she is away from home.   I’m going to continue to sew Quilts of Valor for those soldiers that come home wounded, but even one takes a long time to put together.  But there are other things I can make – cool ties, for instance.    Easy and fast and very much needed in hot desert summer temperatures. 

I went online and found directions on how to make them and in my searching found lots of good information on the following website: http://www.martinworks.com/hero/helpdeployed.html

I not only can sew cool ties – lots and lots of cool ties.  I can also donate for postage to mail care packages.  It costs an average of $40 – $40!!!!!! – to mail a single package! 

I can also send regular emails of encouragement to soldiers.  The website above has links to do just that.

So my challenge to anyone who happens to stumble across my blog is to go the website and see where you can serve the soldiers who are serving you! 

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year from Simple Stewardship.

One thought on “A New Year’s Challenge!

  1. Congratulations on your great work with Quilts for Injured Soldiers. All profits from my books, “Thanking Our Troops–God Bless America Touring Quilts” and profits from the $100 exhibit rental fees (free to military and veteran groups) go to groups like yours who make quilts for wounded soldiers and families of the fallen.

    See photos on http://www.HeavenlyPatchwork.com. Please send your contact info for free books and donations. Blessings of appreciation, Judy Howard

Leave a Reply

