Eat Local – Fight Big Food!

I was just looking at the Mother Earth News Website, something I don’t do often enough.  There is so much great information there.  Anyway, I clicked on the Farm Aid video from the 2006 Farm Aid concert and found it really interesting and inspiring.  So, here is the link.  Take a look and enjoy. 

http://link.brightcove.com/services/link/bcpid1911416491/bctid894795069

I know I don’t even have my garden planted yet, but one day I would like to be able to grow enough to share with my community on a larger scale.  I’m not saying I want to be a full scale farmer, but with the USDA getting ready to approve GE corn developed by a company that makes pesticides, knowing where my food comes from is going to be really important – more and more as time goes on.    The new GE corn is being slated as useable only for ethofuels, but corn is wind pollinated.  That means that eventually, the mutated corn will end up in our food and animal feed supply.  And this is only the tip of the future iceberg.  People, the government is not only taking over our financial system, its taking over our food supply.  We can’t afford to give up control over the very food we put in our mouths.  Its an environmental issue, too, but for me, its more.  Its my health, my future and the future of my descendants.  Americans have to take a few steps back in time.  Small scale agriculture was once the backbone of this nation and needs to be again.  There has to be connection between soil and crops.  We can’t keep over-chemicalizing our very lifeblood – the soil we grow our food in – and expect to be healthy.  Why do you think there is such a epidemic of cancer and other killer diseases in this country?  We’ve stripped our food of nutrition by forcing depleted soil to over produce all for the almighty dollar. 

Let’s take back our food – one trowel at a time!   Let’s educate our children and grandchildren.  We have to get back to being healthy from the ground up, so to speak.  We can’t expect to plant chemicals and reap real food.  The government isn’t going to listen.  Not to the everyday Joe like you and me.  They are going to do what they damn well please.  So we have to control what we can and we can control how we eat.   I am fortunate to live in an area that has one or two good farmers markets within a reasonable distance and a growing locavore culture.    I want to be more of a part of it.    You can, too.    Take a look around your community and do some research.  Talk to local officials and get permission to plant a community garden.   If you’re already a gardener, perhaps local schools would be interested in fresh produce or perhaps you can help kids plant a garden and they could take the produce home to share with parents that might then be inspired to plant at home.  Let’s not forget the homeless.  I live in a big metropolitan area and there are more and more people out with signs every day.  Perhaps the local shelters could use some help setting up and planting gardens to feed their patrons.   What about some other ideas?  I’m all ears.  Comment and let me know what you think.

Keep it simple.

One thought on “Eat Local – Fight Big Food!

Leave a Reply

