A Good Day

I came into work today and found a brand new, flat screen computer on my desk!  Woohoo!  I had known I was going to be getting a new one and had only hoped for a flat screen (you must remember that I work for an underfunded state agency and we don’t always get the latest and greatest), but lo and behold, here it is!  I’ve had to make some adjustments here and there and my bifocals are an issue, but I’m sure I’ll get it all figured out.  Doesn’t take much to entertain me! 

Well,  my husband has penciled me in on his calendar, so to speak, for 2 Saturdays from now to get the raised beds built for the garden!   Then the planting will commence!   I started the tomato seeds in a starter tray this weekend.  Not sure I did it right.  I’m really bad about doing something THEN reading the instructions as was the case here, but I figure I will just go buy plants if the seeds don’t come up like they are supposed to.  No big deal.  Can’t be a purist about everything – or is the word perfectionist? 🙂

I had a fun discussion with a friend on Saturday.  I think I have mentioned here before that I have started buying extra food and bottled water for crisis preparedness.  Well, my friend Jennifer has taken it to the next level.  She is buying bulk beans and rice and other things and storing it all in lined 5 gallon buckets.  They have also purchased a small generator to run their water well.  They are considering getting a small underground tank for fuel storage and have been stockpiling firewood for a while.  They live on 1-1/2 acres and have plenty of room to grow food and have chickens and other animals.  They can do so much more than we can on our housing addition lot.  But we can do a lot, too. 

Today, I’ve been researching how to build a simple solar oven from cardboard boxes and foil.  And I also want to research growing talapia in a patio tank.  But, one step at a time.  I have a tendency to get ahead of myself and not finish things right in front of me that I’ve started.  We won’t talk about all the quilts in different stages of completion and the fabric and patterns yet to be used.    But growing our own vegetables and maybe raising a small amount of fish; being able to cook without electricity, I think, are skills that may be necessary in the future.  Here are a few links for DYI solar ovens. 

www.solarcooking.org/plans

www.thesietch.org/projects/solaroven/index.htm

www.re-energy.ca/pdf/solaroven.pdf

Keep it simple.

Leave a Reply

