A Monarch Kind of Day

I haven’t been inspired to write much lately.  But today I am.  It is the time of year in Oklahoma where we get a small window, a few blissful weeks, of absolutely flawless weather.  The long unbearably humid days of summer are behind us – a little early, it seems, this year.  The wind is calm – unlike spring, where you hang onto your skin for fear of it being ripped from your very bones.  There is not a cloud in the sky and its only 70-something degrees.  Ahhhhhh…..

I couldn’t stand looking out my double-pane office windows any longer.  I had to go out and get a little sun and get some blood flowing in my frigid veins.  Why are offices always kept so cold?  Not surprisingly, I was not the only computer-bound worker out for a stroll.  Everyone smiled and nodded, commented on the perfect weather.  The lawn guys were smiling and laughing, museum visitors strolling with their kids, squirrels chasing each other up and down trees. 

Then I saw it – the official first sign of fall in Oklahoma – a monarch butterfly.  The beauties migrate through here this time of year.  They are so majestic and awesome to behold.  The brilliant orange and black is unmistakable as they flutter by on their journey to – where is it? – Mexico?  Who knows.  The next thing to watch – or rather, listen – for, the next harbinger of the season, is the honking of geese as they migrate here and spend the winter on our lakes and ponds.  For some reason, every time I see the signature V-formation and here them talking to each, it feels like a smile and nod from God.   “I’m still here.  I’m still in control.”

So, my friend, look around.  No matter what part of the county you live in, fall is upon us.  Enjoy this season of transition and give a prayer of thanks to the One who created it all.

Keep it simple,

Sherry

Leave a Reply

