What if you wanted to change your life?

So, I put this question out there.  What if you wanted to change your life?  I’m not asking “what would you do if you could do anything with any amount of money with no consequences,”  kind of pie in the sky question.   I’m asking, what if you seriously wanted to change your life? 

I’ve been faced with some involuntary changes lately.  Precisely the fact that my husband and I are now “empty-nesters.”  While I am MUCH MUCH better about our son not physically being in the house and I’m okay with the fact that I only speak to and see him occasionally, still, our lives are very different.  So, I am feeling this intense need to improve my life in some major way. 

I have a tendency to launch off on new projects only to find myself unhappy and dissatisfied, unfulfilled.  The dog treat business is a HUGE example.  I should have shut it down last summer when I was so miserable, but….I digress.  For a while now, I think God has been brewing something in my heart.  I need to do something that has some value for now and the future.  I want to leave a legacy behind.   Every time I get discontent with my MIND-NUMBINGLY BORING job, every time I pray, “God, I need you to show me a new path,” the same thing keeps returning to my thoughts.  Sustainability.  Learn sustainability, teach sustainability.   

I see a possible future ahead that is scary if unprepared for.  I see a time when our global food supply may be in danger for any number of reasons.  I want to do something about it.  Well, I certainly can’t change things on a global or even national level, but I can learn how to grow my own food, store my own food, live off the grid (a pipe dream?), live in a way that is not dependent on the national supply chain.  If I can learn to do it, can I teach others?  Whoa!  I know nothing about sustainability.  Yes, I have been collecting lot of reading material.  I lurk on the Path to Freedom website sometimes daily and am increasingly inspired by it; I have started a compost pile, I am growing a few okra plants that are finally yielding a few pods, I have signed up for a canning class – a starting point, I guess, but MILES, IONS, LIGHT YEARS away from being able to eat off the land, much less teach anyone else how to do it.  You see, I’m one of those people who wants to know how to do something NOW.  I hate a learning curve, which is exactly what I am faced with – a HUGE one! 

So, this is the change I want to make in my life.  I keep telling myself that when the summer ends and the dog treat business is wrapped up once and for all, to just be content with my job (for the insurance), get back to my quilting and maybe get into an intense Bible study.  All well and good, but I know myself too well.  I HAVE to have something challenging going on in my life, some way to actively engage some brain cells.    So, on a whim yesterday I contacted our friends who are real estate agents and asked “How much land can you buy for X amount of dollars?”  They replied with several listings and one looks intriguing.   2.5 acres of land with an A-frame house on it.  “The property is being sold in as-is condition.”  That could mean anything from no roof to who knows what.  But, I think I will persuade my husband to drive out with me this weekend and take a look.  Couldn’t hurt.  

So much to think about.  So, back to my original question.  What if you wanted to change your life?  What is burning in your heart (not last night’s enchiladas :o)?  Let me know.  I would love to hear from you.

Keep it simple,

Sherry

Leave a Reply

