Dr. Bronner’s Castile Soap

I finally found the time to run by Super Target and pick up some Dr. Bronner’s Pure Castile Soap.  I bought a small bottle of the liquid and a bar.  I used the liquid for handwashing dishes and it worked well.  It is a little different in that you don’t get a lot of suds, but that’s probably a good thing.   I used 2 tablespoons in my dishwasher, too and had good results.  It did not leave a film at all (which I had read somewhere someone had experienced.)   I have a large mixer bowl with a bottom depression that holds water.  The water is usually white-ish and has stuff floating in it from the powdered detergent I normally use.  Using the Bronner’s, the water I poured off was clear and had no residue.  Very nice.  My dishes were sparkling and clean.  I intended to add white vinegar as a rinse agent, but have run out.  Turns out I didn’t need it.  I don’t know that I would have liked the smell of vinegar in my kitchen anyway.

I haven’t had a chance to use the bar soap yet.  I bought it to grate and mix with Borax and washing soda for laundry detergent.  I hope to be able to try it this weekend – we’ll see. 

I have posted a review on my Products Review page and have added the website to my Earth Goods list to the right.  Check it out.  They also make organic bath and body soaps, hair rinse cremes, lip balms, lotions and baby products.  I’ll have to go back to Target and see how much of it they carry.  I’m a real pushover for that sort of thing. 

If anyone has experience with the Dr. Bronner’s products, please share.  I would love to know more.

Keep it simple,

Sherry

One thought on “Dr. Bronner’s Castile Soap

  1. Agreed, I love Dr. Bronner’s products, I always use them for backpacking, since they don’t harm the environment.

Leave a Reply

