Tender Mercies

The Lord knew just what I needed. 

I pulled into the driveway after work on Friday without opening the garage door.  I came into the house and saw the door to my son’s room closed.  I knew darn well I had propped it open so the cat could come and go.  I pushed open the door and there he was!  My son, not the cat :o).  He had come up from Norman and pulled his car into the garage just like old times.  He went out to dinner with us and his grandmother and then surprised me even more by staying the night in his old room.  I so needed this!  

If anyone at all has read my posts lately, you know I’ve had a really hard time with separation anxiety since he moved out a week ago.  Thursday was Meltdown Day, Friday was better and then the unexpected gift of having him back until mid-day on Saturday!  Such a good thing!  Perhaps he needed to come home, too, to the familiarity and peace after a week of learning to live with roommates and sleeping on a bunk bed.

So, now he’s back down in Norman at work this evening and I’m okay with it.  Life is going to be different from now on as he comes and goes, being gone much more than he is here, especially once classes start in August.  But, I will deal with that, too and the grace of God will see me through it all.

Thank you for loving me so much, Lord, that even this is important to you. 

2 thoughts on “Tender Mercies

  1. I remember walking past my son’s room after he left for college and just breaking down and crying for hours. It is SO HARD letting them find their wings. Now, almost 20 years later I still get a little hitch in my heart when I see him after a long absence. You will get through this!

Leave a Reply

